Follow us on Google+ / Twitter
Science & Technology Commerce & Business Art & Design
Interest Test Solve your Doubts Cut-off Personalized Counselling
By Way2k Way2k
Way2k 5 Oct 2012
GSVM Medical College convocation

The third convocation ceremony of Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Memorial Medical College was held on Tuesday, 24th April, 2012. Lini Srivastava, a student of para-B2 (medical batch) hogged the limelight. Apart from Ratan Devi Dixit gold medal and gold medal for distinction in paediatrics, she also won the prestigious Ganesian award given to best student of the year. The girl students excelled in various other PG, MD and diploma courses by grabbing maximum gold medals. The convocation ceremony was held on the foundation day of the medical college.

GSVM Medical College convocation

The toppers were awarded medals and certificates of honour by the special guests in the presence of vice-chancellor of Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj University and principal of GSVM Medical College. The ceremony was inaugurated by special guest Dr. Ashok Seth, an eminent cardiologist from New Delhi. CSMU vice-chancellor Ashok Kumar initiated the proceedings. GSVM principal Anand Swaroop thanked the chief guest and others. The other meritorious students of graduate courses were Anushree Agarwal (student of Para-C2) and Richa Singh (student of Para-D2). Komal Sah (student of Para-D2) won the Louis Pasteur gold medal for highest marks in microbiology. She also got the silver medal for her performance.

Akansha Srivastava won the gold medal for distinction in physiology. The classmates and seniors greeted the meritorious students. The thrill and excitement of victory was visible in eyes of the students and their parents. Dr. Gaurav Arya was awarded S.N. Mehrotra Gold Medal. Dr. Goldy and Ojaswi Pathak were awarded, A.R. Agarwal Gold Medal. Dr. Manju Gupta received the award for MS Orthopedics. All these students were awarded gold medals in MD and MS courses. Students grabbing best performances in super-speciality groups were Dr. Akhilesh Kumar Jain (DM cardiology) and Dr. Ajay Chaurasiya (in CTVS). Students getting silver medals were Neha Singh from Para-B2, who got distinction in surgery.

Sumaiya Hasan, a student of Para-C2, stood first in COH in SPM. Ankita Bias was awarded silver medal for her distinction in anatomy. Sakshi Jain, Aparna Pandey, Kriti Singh, Aishvarya Adhaulia and Akansha Srivastava got bronze medals. The meritorious students were not missing any chance to share their happiness with their friends. Many of the students started clicking pictures of the happiest moments with family members and friends. The guardians and parents too remained busy, sharing their joy with each other. A majority of PG students remained absent in the convocation ceremony due to internship and practicals.

Apart form gold, silver and bronze medals, certificates of honours (COH) were also given to the students. Bhawna Agarwal (Para B2 COH medicine), Pranshi Agarwal (Para C2 COH in ophthalmology), Swadhada Seep (Para C2 COH in SPM) were awarded certificates. The other students who grabbed certificates of honour were Arjun Bhatnagar (Para D2 distinction and COH in pharmacology), Swapnil (Para D2 COH in pathology), Juhi Pal (Para E2 COH in biochemistry). As many as 219 students of MBBS, MD and MS were awarded on the occasion. As many as 128 students received MD/MS and PG (diploma). A total of six students were given DM/MCH degrees. Also, 11 students were given gold medals and 41 certificate of honour.

Ten were awarded distinction certificates. Best performers in MD and MS were Dr. Ashutosh Anshu, Dr. Vikas Jain, Dr. S.P. Tiwari and Dr. Abhishek Kumar Shukla. Dr. Shailesh Kumar, Dr. Pallavi Verma, Dr. D.P. Sahu, Dr. Prabhu Ram J, Dr. Sandeep Singh, Dr. Vijay Km Bharghav and Dr. Anand Kartikeyan were given the best performer certificates in their subjects. Special dean awards were given to Dr. Shashikant in pathology, Dr. Prachi Goyel in anaesthesia, Dr. Astha Gupta in obstetrics and gynaecology and Dr. Bharat Bhushan in orthopaedics. Dr. Akhtar Hussein was given dean award in DTDC and Dr. Rangnath in paediatrics.

All the students of bachelor of surgery, master of surgery, master of medicine and post graduate students repeated the oath delivered by Dr. Navneet Kumar. They pledged to serve the mankind with best of their dedication, dignity and integrity. The chief guest gave his best wishes to the new doctors. He laid emphasis on spiritualism and faith in god and urged the students to be humane. "The whole world of medicine and treatment is very uncertain. A doctor is like a god to the patients. One must try to be a good doctor rather than great, expert or rich one," Dr. Seth added. Dr. Seth also shared his success mantra with the students. He said that it needs focus, integrity, hard work and compassion to be a good doctor.

Apart from this, blessings of parents and well-wishers also played an important role in one's success. He also advised the students not to analyse books but life. Dr. Sethi also focused on medical research and told students to update their knowledge. CSMU V-C Ashok Kumar urged the young doctors to devote a few years of their lives in serving rural population of the country. He also advised the doctors to meet the patients with a smiling face. "Government schemes like NRHM and various others are giving opportunities to young medical experts to serve the nation. The doctors must focus to control lifestyle diseases which are very high in India," he added.

Speaking on the occasion, director general, medical education and training (UP), Saudan Singh congratulated the young doctors on successfully completing their studies and being in the list of meritorious students. He added that every failure should be taken as a lesson. Doctors always work with open mind eyes. He also asked students not to become a victim of cheating. The convocation ceremony ended with vote of thanks by Dr. Suresh Singh. The faculty members and doctors of SVM and LLR Hospital were also present.

Courtesy: Times of India

viagra szed├ęse go viagra noknek
cialis prodaja cialis cijena u bih
Show... Comments
Academic Updates
Admission Entrance Result Events
Recent Post
What you missed